Chicago

Chicago, Spared

Before I went to bed last night I swore with dread I would wake up to news of Chicago being the next Olympic City.  How could it not?  Oprah was with the delegation that went to Copenhagen to convince the International Olympic Committee that the Windy City would blow beyond all our expectations; and let’s throw in the First Lady and President (homeboys of Chicago) to make a sales pitch.  Needless to say, I was nervous.  Scenes from walking down Michigan Avenue earlier that night kept flashing on my mind.  —

chicago olympic

Yes, a successful bid seemed imminent. 

And then it came to pass that Chicago was eliminated on Round One of the IOC’s deliberations.  I learned about it while sitting at the office in Ravenswood with my colleagues, discussing appeals and motions to reopen.  R.Mc was suddenly cheering from her cubicle as she surfed the web.  We all joined in rejoicing that Chicago was spared.  Spared even more taxes to foot an Olympic-sized bill.  Spared from the logistical nightmare that would mar our city’s streets, and way of life.  Spared the horrors of yet another of City Hall’s grandstanding.

I am glad Chicago can stay the way it is, and that its broad shoulders stay free of unnecessary burden.

chicago 2 

 

I give you Chicago. It is not London and Harvard. It is not Paris and buttermilk. It is American in every chitling and sparerib. It is alive from snout to tail.”  Henry Louis Mencken (American humorous journalist and critic of American life).

3 thoughts on “Chicago, Spared

  1. I was kind of glad Chicago didn’t get it either. I love the US and I love Barack Obama, but hosting the Olympics seems like it would be such a pain. And an expensive one at that!

Leave a Reply

